DWI Penalties

If you had to deal with a drunk driving arrest recently, you could surely use immediate assistance from professionals. Criminal offenses can carry severe consequences, and the only way to avoid them is by hiring an experienced lawyer. No matter if you are guilty or innocent, you will benefit from contacting a criminal defender. Stephen Lukach III is an experienced New Jersey DWI lawyer. If you were charged with driving while intoxicated, don’t hesitate to give him a call. 


Sometimes, people get wrongfully accused of DUI. It happens because of false positive field sobriety tests. These tests are not 100% accurate, and mistakes happen from time to time. If you are taking certain medications, or have a particular medical disorder, it could have an impact on your performance on these tests. If you are innocent, it is of vital importance to hire an experienced legal expert to protect your rights and build a strong case. 


New Jersey DWI Penalties

You should keep in mind that operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in this state. If your BAC level or blood alcohol content is above the legal limit of .08%, you will face DUI charges. If you drive a commercial vehicle, or you are a minor, this limit is lower. It is .04% for commercial drivers, and .02% for minors. The best way to avoid severe penalties is not to drive at all. Otherwise, you are risking your freedom, future, and finances. 


If it is the first time that you are facing drunk driving charges, you will be required to pay between $250 and $500 in fines. Also, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least three months, and you might have to spend up to one month in jail. Additionally, your car insurance rates will increase for the following three years. As you can see, even the first offense can carry severe consequences. Keep in mind that you might end up in jail, and it won’t look good on your criminal record. You might have severe issues later when trying to find a new job. Drunk driving is just not worth it. Make sure that you always have a friend pick you up after consuming alcohol. Otherwise, you are risking your future, and putting innocent people in danger. 

If it is your second arrest, penalties will be more severe than with the first offense. You will need to set aside between $500 and $1,000 for fines. Also, your license will be suspended for at least seven months, and you might need to spend up to 3 months doing jail time. Your vehicle insurance rates will also increase. As you can see, repeating an OWI offense is not a good idea. 


If you are a third-time offender, you will be fined $1,000. You will lose your driving privileges for one decade, and spend six months in jail. Car insurance rates will also increase. Being a repeat offender is expensive, and can have a significant impact on your life. If you want to avoid this, never drive a vehicle after consuming alcohol.